New Jersey Frequently Asked Questions
|New Jersey Notary Application Requirements|
General requirements for Notaries Public in the State of New Jersey:
Once the application has been accepted for filing with the New Jersey State Treasurer, you will be sent a qualifying form and a New Jersey Notary Public identification certificate. (Keep this in a very safe location, as there is a fee to replace it.) The process may take from 2 to 4 weeks to complete once you have sent the completed application to Trenton, NJ.
The newly appointed New Jersey Notary must go to the County Clerk’s office where they live or where they work if a non-resident, to be sworn in within ninety (90) days of the Notary's Commission approval receipt from Trenton, NJ.
The $25.00 fee to the New Jersey State Treasurer is not refundable.
The fee for the County Clerk Oath of Office is fifteen dollars ($15.00)
No appointments are necessary in order to take the Oath of Office.
Notorial Oaths are administered during normal office hours at the New Jersey County Clerk Offices. Check with your County Clerk to see what their hours are. Mostly the hours are from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM.
New Jersey Notary Public Tools
New Jersey Notaries are recommended to use a self-inking Notary Public stamp with all pertinent Notary information in order to facilitate notarizations.
Metal Notary embosser seals are recommended for notarized documents going out-of-state and/or out of the United States.
We highly recommend that Notaries Public use a Notary Public Journal to keep track of who appeared before them, for whom have notarized for and how they were identified.
We also recommend that all Notaries personally know and follow the state Notary laws pertaining to New Jersey as they are 100% liable for their actions as a Notary Public.
Visit our PRODUCTS page on this website to order your New Jersey Notary Public Supplies today.